Experts and professionals committed to making a positive impact




Members of institutions and teams spread across the globe


The OICD network consists of experts from universities, agencies and organizations from across the world. 

OICD Members work together across a variety of projects and roles

Special Advisors/Patrons

Special Advisors /Patrons are individuals who are internationally recognized in their efforts to achieve a number of OICD related aims.

Current Special Advisors (alphabetical):

Marcia Langton (Foundation Chair in Australian Indigenous Studies at the University of Melbourne)

Pierre Sane (Founder & President of Imagine Africa Institute, formally UNESCO’s Assistant Director-General for Social and Human Sciences and Secretary General of Amnesty International)

Pamela Stewart & Andrew Strathern (Andrew Mellon Professor, University of Pittsburgh)

Former patrons:

2010-2012: Jean & John Comaroff

2007-2010:  Thomas Hylland Eriksen

Executive Committee

Working to keep the cogs of the OICD turning, the executive committee make the key decisions on how the organisation runs.

As of October 15th 2017 the Executive Committee dissolved to form a new constitution. The Executive Committee from Oct 2015-Oct 2017 comprised the following members:





Wayne Jordash (Director of Applied Projects)





Bruce White (Executive Director)

Research Affiliates

The OICD has a wide range of interests in fields from conflict studies to traditional ethnography. Affiliates are individuals whose work is closely aligned with the aims and activities of the OICD. These individuals bring a broad set of interdisciplinary perspectives to the OICD, enriching the organization’s work and expanding our areas of expertise.

The OICD currently has the following developers:

John McCoy (Director of Applied Research)

Gary Gregg

Joy Hendry

Gordon Mathews

Rick Fawn

Jotham Momba

Peter Ackermann

Greg Poole

Mark Davidheiser

Tammy Kohn

Yuko Nishimura

Baldwin Wong

Susan Pattie

Ruth Mandel

Patricia Spyer

Rafael Sanchez

Patrick McCartney

Neriko Doerr

Sandra Obradovic

Research Fellows

Research fellows assist in the development of research projects and support other organisational initiatives in a range of areas.

Emilia Groupp

Joshua Rickard

Aliya Tskhay

Andrea De Antoni

Gwen Burnyeat


OICD staff assist in the development of projects and support other organisational activities and operations across a range of areas.

Jasmine Kato-Naughton - Operations & Project Development Officer

Luke Reilly - Project Development Officer


Interdisciplinary Research and Methods Working Group

For a full description of what the Working Group does click here.

Emilia Groupp (coordinator)

Alen Maulitov

Beatrice Yeung

Summer Qassim

James Haw

Irene Fabricci

Kazumi Hoshino-Macdonald

Sarthak Malhotra

Vicente Lovelace

Priya Sajjad

Timo Schmidt


Editors & Production Managers

OICD publishing ventures span a forthcoming in-house publishing house (EMIC Press), and an on-line magazine of interpretative anthropology (Global Ethnographic).

Tiffany Cone (Global Ethnographic)

Lily Fox (Global Ethnographic)

Teodora Hasegan (Global Ethnographic)

Faye Miller (Global Ethnographic)

Michelle O’Toole (Global Ethnographic-retired 2018)

Jehonathan Ben (Global Ethnographic-retired 2018)

Do you have skills that could be put to use in any of the OICD’s publishing projects? Click the Get Involved tab for ways to contribute and participate.


Jason Everaert

Cristina Cusenza

Pooja George

Ayaka Naota

Tom Clayton

Hannah Diry

Eva Hansen

Alex Clegg

Angus Grant

Oliver Puckey

Fergus Fyodor Selsdon Games

Former Interns

Hannah Gould – Liaison Manager/Anthropology

Cade Bourne – Artistic Affiliate Manager/Anthropology

Nadine Dammaschk – Anthropology/Peace Studies

Tayler Groom – Intern/Modern History & Politics

Jessica Hodder – Artist in Residence

Marius Palz – Anthropology

Riku Jarvelin – Political Science/International Relations

Aliya Tskhay – Political Science/International Relations

Dany Tsuruta - Anthropology

Urvee Kakar - Political Science

Kerry Balkwill - Japanese Studies

QC Gu - Political Science

Katja Holtz - Anthropology

Jasmine Kato-Naughton - Anthropology

Luke Reilly - Anthropology

General Members

The OICD has approximately 200 general members from all over the world. General members are eligible to vote on some issues and receive updates on the organization. Membership is currently free. If you would like the join the organization as a general member and/or contribute in other ways please go to Get Involved.


Formerly research affiliate, in fond memory:

Eduardo Terren (link to in memoriam homepage)

Join + Support the OICD