Our Network

Experts and professionals committed to making a positive impact

Members of institutions and teams spread across the globe

The OICD network consists of experts from universities, agencies and organizations from across the world. 

OICD Members work together across a variety of projects and roles

Special Advisors/Patrons

Special Advisors /Patrons are individuals who are internationally recognized in their efforts to achieve a number of OICD related aims.

Current Special Advisors (alphabetical):

Marcia Langton (Foundation Chair in Australian Indigenous Studies at the University of Melbourne)

Pierre Sane (Founder & President of Imagine Africa Institute, formally UNESCOs Assistant Director-General for Social and Human Sciences and Secretary General of Amnesty International)

Pamela Stewart & Andrew Strathern (Andrew Mellon Professor, University of Pittsburgh)

Former patrons:

2010-2012: Jean & John Comaroff

2007-2010:  Thomas Hylland Eriksen

Advisory Board (alphabetical)

Prabhathi Basnayake

Christoph Brumann

Richard Chenhall

Rick Fawn

Jessica Gienow-Hecht

Ellen Kaplan

Steve Lyon

Sandra Obradović

Chip Pitts

Joana Ricarte

Tassos Stassopoulos

Bruce White (Executive Director)


Research Affiliates

The OICD has a wide range of interests in fields from conflict studies to traditional ethnography. Affiliates are individuals whose work is closely aligned with the aims and activities of the OICD. These individuals bring a broad set of interdisciplinary perspectives to the OICD, enriching the organization’s work and expanding our areas of expertise. The OICD currently has the following developers:

Research Fellows

Research fellows assist in the development of research projects and support other organisational initiatives in a range of areas.

Emilia Groupp

Joshua Rickard

Aliya Tskhay

Andrea De Antoni

Gwen Burnyeat


OICD staff assist in the development of projects and support other organisational activities and operations across a range of areas.

Jasmine Kato-Naughton - Operations & Project Development Officer

Luke Reilly - Project Development Officer

Jeremy Gales - Project Management, Communication and Engagement Officer

Sergio Postarini - Organizational and Project Development Officer

Chikara Shimasaki - Project Development Officer

Editors & Production Managers

OICD publishing ventures span a forthcoming in-house publishing house (EMIC Press), and an on-line magazine of interpretative anthropology (Global Ethnographic).

Tiffany Cone (Global Ethnographic)

Lily Fox (Global Ethnographic)

Teodora Hasegan (Global Ethnographic)

Faye Miller (Global Ethnographic)

Michelle O’Toole (Global Ethnographic-retired 2018)

Jehonathan Ben (Global Ethnographic-retired 2018)

Do you have skills that could be put to use in any of the OICD’s publishing projects? Click here to find ways to contribute.



Amber Knox

Marta Rocha

Max Sasha Tscheltzoff

Cara Michel

Divya Ramesh

Former Interns

Hannah Gould – Liaison Manager/Anthropology

Cade Bourne – Artistic Affiliate Manager/Anthropology

Nadine Dammaschk – Anthropology/Peace Studies

Tayler Groom – Intern/Modern History & Politics

Jessica Hodder – Artist in Residence

Marius Palz – Anthropology

Riku Jarvelin – Political Science/International Relations

Aliya Tskhay – Political Science/International Relations

Dany Tsuruta - Anthropology

Urvee Kakar - Political Science

Fergus Fyodor Selsdon Games - History

Darcy Williams - Activism/Social Impact

Hamish Bryson - Social Impact


Kerry Balkwill - Japanese Studies

QC Gu - Political Science

Katja Holtz - Anthropology

Jasmine Kato-Naughton - Anthropology

Luke Reilly - Anthropology

Pooja George - Intern

Ay Nassimoldina - Anthropology

Lauren Vogler - Anthropology

Eva Hansen - Anthropology

General Members

The OICD has approximately 260 general members from all over the world. General members are eligible to vote on some issues and receive updates on the organization. Membership is currently free. If you would like the join the organization as a general member and/or contribute in other ways please click here.

Formerly research affiliate, in fond memory:

Eduardo Terren (link to in memoriam homepage)